The Department of Surgery sees itself as Styria's main surgical unit that provides cutting-edge medicine to the severely injured throughout southeastern Austria. As a university department, we engage in innovative and interdisciplinary research at an international level, and our five surgical divisions provide state-of-the-art medical services in all surgical specialties.

Conducting basic and applied research, the research areas represent all surgical areas and are associated with cooperations with well-known international universities. Through our range of services, we guarantee that our patients receive treatment according to the latest medical findings.

As a department, we are also committed to the teaching and training of students and postgraduates. We choose practice-oriented content to convey knowledge and to ensure our discipline remains attractive to young doctors.


Our divisions

Detailed information on our three main competences research, education and patient care can be found on the websites of our divisions.


Auenbruggerplatz 29, 8036 Graz 
T: +43 316 385 12834
F: +43 316 385 595 12718